Click here to expand and collapse the player

Boyz N Da Hood

Rate It! Avg: 3.5 (29 ratings)


Biography All Music Guide

Group Members: Young Jeezy, Young Jeezy & Down South Legends, Young Jeezy & DJ Drama, Gorilla Zoe, Young Jeezy 'presents', Jody Breeze, Young Jeezy and Fabolous

All Music Guide:

Boyz N da Hood feature Miguel "Big Gee" Scott, Lee "Big Duke" Dixon, Jay "Young Jeezy" Jenkins, and Jacoby "Jody Breeze" White, four MCs from Atlanta who signed with P. Diddy's Bad Boy label and released a self-titled album during the summer of 2005. Put together by Sho'Nuff Records co-owner Russell "Block" Spencer, the quartet generated a significant amount of label interest with its first recordings. Diddy, who apparently wasn't looking to sign anyone at the time, was won over and sought them out. Following the smash success of Young Jeezy's solo debut, Let's Get It: Thug Motivation 101 (2005), which was released by Def Jam a couple months after Boyz N da Hood and significantly outsold it, he left the group for a solo career. Young Jeezy's replacement, Gorilla Zoe, came aboard in time for the group's second album, Back Up N da Chevy (2007).