Click here to expand and collapse the player

Finger Eleven

Rate It! Avg: 4.0 (655 ratings)
  • Formed: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
  • Years Active: 1990s, 2000s
  • Website: http://www.fingerelev.com
  • Recent Activity: 08.30.16 RT @ThunderFootRod: Love this guys' style on Five Crooked Lines. Little more random than Rich but stays tight and in the pocket as well htt…
  • Finger Eleven

  • Finger Eleven


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

The members of alternative metal outfit Finger Eleven grew up in Burlington, Ontario, and came together in high school as a funk-styled band named Rainbow Butt Monkeys. Originally comprised of vocalist Scott Anderson, bassist Sean Anderson, drummer Rob Gommerman, and James Black and Rick Jackett on guitars, they won a rock band search contest on local radio and used the prize money to record their first album, 1995's Letters from Chutney. Gommerman left the band soon after, making way for drummer Rich Beddoe. Now named Finger Eleven, the quintet released Tip on Mercury Records in Canada, which marked the band's turn to a heavier sound. It was re-released by the New York City-based label Wind-Up Records in September 1998. The album made minor waves on MuchMusic, videos for "Above" and "Tip" increasing their profile at home, but it would still be several years before U.S. audiences really paid attention to the band. The Greyest of Blue Skies appeared in the summer of 2000, followed three years later by Finger Eleven's self-titled third album. The latter record eventually went gold, driven by the success of their brooding Top 40 hit "One Thing." After various rounds of touring, the guys got to work collectively writing their next album for Wind-Up. March 2007's Them vs. You vs. Me featured much more varied instrumentation and influences -- including dance, funk, and country -- than just the chugging metallic guitars of Finger Eleven's past efforts. The band subsequently hit the road in support with U.S. shows alongside Evanescence and Chevelle. Back home in Canada, Them vs. You vs. Me wound up winning the Juno for Rock Album of the Year in 2008, raising expectations for the band's next album, Life Turns Electric, which appeared in the fall of 2010.


  • 08.30.16 RT @ThunderFootRod: Love this guys' style on Five Crooked Lines. Little more random than Rich but stays tight and in the pocket as well htt…
  • 08.29.16 RT @CoalitionMUS: Check out Blackout Song by @Finger_Eleven! Do you love it? Request it at your local station! https://t.co/nKz8Bos1hS http…
  • 08.29.16 RT @TheVogue: Great time last night with @10years & @Finger_Eleven #AcousticTour. Thanks to all that came! @dahliapresents
  • 08.29.16 RT @BloodyMessXoXo: Great music, stellar human beings. Proud as hell to know them. #fingereleven #fivecrookedlines https://t.co/kuyloJFKMh
  • 08.29.16 Are you a fan? @ The Vogue Theatre https://t.co/Lqdor7OOWX
  • 08.29.16 Are you a fan? @ The Vogue Theatre https://t.co/1ochY8Xw3Y
  • 08.28.16 RT @DivineWarrior12: Listening to Five Crooked Lines. By @Finger_Eleven. Great Album Awesome band. 💘
  • 08.26.16 Always great pics from @mintypics ! https://t.co/GBteR3yBfK
  • 08.26.16 RT @discodain: @Finger_Eleven Enjoyed the acoustic set, especially James' Michael McDonald impression on Ride Like the Wind! \m/ https://t.…
  • 08.26.16 RT @Muzzkill7: Gotta hand it to @Finger_Eleven they were great at @HOMEbarChicago very cool set!
  • 08.26.16 RT @ThunderFootRod: .@Finger_Eleven were so damn good tonight. Check them out and buy their new record Five Crooked Lines https://t.co/BkL5…
  • 08.26.16 RT @_Somnum: I'm so much in love with @Finger_Eleven's music! Gosh, just can't stop listening!