Click here to expand and collapse the player


Biography All Music Guide

Group Members: Ben Harper and The Innocent Criminals, Ben Harper, Ben Harper And Relentless7, Joseph Arthur, The Lonely Astronauts, Joseph Arthur, Joseph Arthur & The Lonely Astronauts, Ben Harper And Relentless7

All Music Guide:

Featuring a three-part harmonies and a casual, folksy sound, Fistful of Mercy is a supergroup comprised of Ben Harper, Dhani Harrison, and Joseph Arthur. The band formed at the Carriage House studio in L.A., where the three songwriters convened in February 2010 for three inspired days of writing and recording. Taking cues from the collaborative approach of the Travelin’ Wilburys (which featured George Harrison, Dhani’s father), the trio worked at a fast pace, sharing vocal duties and handling most of the instruments themselves before enlisting session drummer Jim Keltner to overdub percussion. Three days later, the acoustic As I Call You Down was complete, and the band released the album later that year on George Harrison’s Hot Records label.