Click here to expand and collapse the player

Metal Church

Rate It! Avg: 4.5 (49 ratings)
  • Formed: San Francisco, CA
  • Years Active: 1980s, 1990s, 2000s


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Formed Seattle in 1982, Metal Church consisted of vocalist David Wayne, guitarists Kurdt Vanderhoof and Craig Wells, bassist Duke Erickson, and drummer Kirk Arrington. Their 1985 self-titled debut album, recorded when the thrash/speed metal genre was still evolving, made a huge splash on the scene, as did its similar follow-up, The Dark. However, the band really hit its stride when Wayne left and was replaced by Mike Howe on 1989's Blessing In Disguise; Vanderhoof left after the album due to his dislike of touring and was replaced by Metallica guitar tech John Marshall. Vanderhoof remained the group's designated composer on 1991's The Human Factor, possibly the band's most socially conscious album. However, the advent of alternative rock and problems with their record label contributed to a loss of direction on 1993's Hanging in the Balance, and Metal Church ended up disbanding. In 1999, the group's original lineup -- Wayne, Vanderhoof, Wells, Erickson, and Arrington -- reunited and released the album Masterpeace. Live appeared early the following year.

Tour Dates All Dates Dates In My Area

Date Venue Location Tickets
02.20.17 Jake's Lubbock, TX US
02.21.17 Grizzly Hall Austin, TX US
02.22.17 Trees Dallas, TX US
02.24.17 The Rock Box San Antonio, TX US
02.26.17 Scout Bar Houston, TX US
09.06.17 Center Stage Theatre Atlanta, GA US