Click here to expand and collapse the player


Rate It! (0 ratings)
  • Years Active: 1990s, 2000s


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Norwegian black metal outfit Ragnarok (not to be confused with the '70s Swedish progressive rockers) was born from the ashes of an earlier band named Thoth in 1994, when its drummer, Jontho (real name: John Thomas Bratland) and bassist Jerv teamed up with guitarist Rym (Øyvind Trindborg) and vocalist Thyme (aka General Hymer). Enthralled with all things satanic and evil, Ragnarok debuted with 1995's Nattferd (meaning "A Journey Through the Night") and later brought in Dimmu Borgir's Shagrath as a guest keyboardist on 1997's Arising Realm. Still going strong, Ragnarok's subsequent odes to the dark lord have included 2000's Diabolical Age, 2002's In Nomine Satanas (introducing new vocalist U. Høst) and 2004's Blackdoor Miracle.