Click here to expand and collapse the player

Royal Thunder

Rate It! Avg: 5.0 (4 ratings)
  • Royal Thunder

  • Royal Thunder

  • Royal Thunder


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Rising out of Atlanta, Georgia, Royal Thunder have been conjuring stoner rock grooves out of the Southern heat since they were formed in 2006 by guitarist Josh Weaver. Featuring singer and bassist Mlny Parsonz, drummer Lee Smith, and guitarist Josh Coleman, the band's hazy, psychedelic sound evokes the early days of stoner and space rock, with Parsonz's soulful vocals bringing an element of dark drama to the band's swaggering sound. Royal Thunder made their recorded debut in 2009 with a self-titled EP, which the band self-released before signing to Relapse shortly afterwards, where the label re-released the album the following year. Their first full-length, CVI, arrived two years later in 2012.

Tour Dates All Dates Dates In My Area

Date Venue Location Tickets
11.19.15 Masquerade Atlanta, GA US
11.24.15 Exit In Nashville, TN US
11.28.15 Neighborhood Theatre Charlotte, NC US
11.29.15 Rock and Roll Hotel Washington, DC US
12.02.15 The Sinclair Cambridge, MA US
12.04.15 Trocadero Theatre Philadelphia, PA US
12.10.15 Blind Pig Ann Arbor, MI US
12.13.15 The Ready Room St Louis, MO US
12.15.15 1884 Lounge Memphis, TN US
12.19.15 House of Rock Corpus Christi, TX US

eMusic Features


Who Are…Heliotropes

By J. Edward Keyes, Editor-in-Chief

It's clear from the get-go on A Constant Sea, the debut from Brooklyn psych-sludgers Heliotropes that something ain't right. On the album cover, a grim, skeletal visage peers out from the shadows. Thirty seconds into the first song, frontwoman Jessica Numsuwankijkul warns "red comes rushing through your skies" over the same gristle-greased guitars that occupied the better part of Smashing Pumpkins' Gish. The record remains just as grim throughout, a turbulent meditation on loss and… more »


  • 09.03.15 Paste Magazine includes 'Crooked Doors' on their list of 10 metal albums for people who don't like metal http://t.co/1vmN2T1W4H
  • 08.21.15 Tickets are now on sale for the fall tour with The Sword! *links below* Wed/Nov 18 - New Orleans, LA @ One... http://t.co/g2tFz9fimx
  • 08.20.15 We will be hitting the road again this fall in support of The Sword, the tour kicks off Nov. 18th in New Orleans,... http://t.co/EsJkgWnJBz
  • 07.08.15 "A much more introspective work than their 2012 studio effort, and a true masterpiece – one of the best albums of... http://t.co/IFu6DAszyW
  • 07.03.15 Huge thanks to Jim Dunlop Guitar Products for the support! They stopped by the show a few weeks back in Anaheim, CA. http://t.co/yZOgRywdqf
  • 07.02.15 ♫ This Weekend: Atlanta, GA - Jul 3 at The Earl http://t.co/wXt6oaBm6X
  • 07.01.15 ♫ Tomorrow: Charlotte, NC - Jul 2 at The Chop Shop http://t.co/mjt7r2MNp0
  • 07.01.15 We are at The Camel tonight in Richmond, VA! Doors at 7pm! 1621 W. Broad St Richmond, VA 23220
  • 06.30.15 We are back on tonight in Baltimore, MD at the Metro Gallery! Doors at 7! 1700 N. Charles street Baltimore, MD 21201
  • 06.30.15 ♫ Tomorrow: Richmond, VA - Jul 1 at The Camel http://t.co/KQoeDTWZPV
  • 06.29.15 ♫ Tomorrow: Baltimore, MD - Jun 30 at Metro Gallery http://t.co/xA7GTvrBgL
  • 06.27.15 We are sorry to say that the Providence,RI and Philadelphia,PA shows have been canceled. Here is a statement... http://t.co/gly7FtUIlT