Click here to expand and collapse the player

Simon Joyner

Rate It! Avg: 4.0 (18 ratings)
  • Born: New Orleans, LA
  • Years Active: 1990s, 2000s


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Omaha, NE, native and singer/songwriter Simon Joyner has been putting out delicate, intimate, mournful songs since 1993, when the One Hour label released his Room Temperature CD. The Cowardly Traveller Pays His Toll, Heaven's Gate, Songs for the New Year, and Lousy Dance, as well as an EP (Christine) and several singles followed through 1999. In 2001, along with his band the Fallen Men, Joyner released To Almost No One, a tribute to ten singer/songwriters, including Paul Siebel, Anne Briggs, Kris Kristofferson, and Jerry Jeff Walker. The bleak but critically lauded Hotel Lives arrived that same year, followed by the equally introspective Lost with the Lights On in 2004. A compilation of singles and rarities, Beautiful Losers, was released in 2006. Skeleton Blues from Jagjaguwar Records appeared that same year. In 2008, Joyner released Cowardly Traveller Pays His Toll on Team Love. Out into the Snow followed in 2009 also on Team Love. It wouldn't be until 2012 that the normally prolific Joyner would release another album, but that year's double album Ghosts saw him backed by a full band. The next year New Secrets emerged, the second collaboration between Joyner and Shrimper Records founder Dennis Callaci following their 2004 EP Stranger Blues.