Click here to expand and collapse the player


Rate It! Avg: 3.0 (1 ratings)
  • Formed: Hamburg, Germany
  • Years Active: 2000s


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Symphorce is a heavy metal band from Hamburg, Germany, which, though often lumped into the power metal category, actually offers much more than that subgenre's standard blueprint, via more progressive and extreme metal elements. Formed in 1998 by workaholic singer Andy B. Franck (previously with prog-rockers Ivanhoe and concurrently the frontman for more traditional power metal band Brainstorm), Symphorce made their mark with a string of impressive LPs for Noise Records: 1999's Truth to Promises, 2000's Sinctuary, 2002's Phorceful Ahead, and 2004's Twice Second; then moved over to Metal Blade for 2005's similarly acclaimed GodSpeed and 2007's Become Death. Throughout this time, the group has counted with guitarists Cedric Dupont (also a member of Freedom Call) and Dennis Wohlbold (also of Mystic Prophecy), while rhythm sections have fluctuated somewhat, most recently consisting of bassist Dennis Wohlbold and drummer Steffen Theurer (also of Chinchilla).