Click here to expand and collapse the player

Talk Normal

Rate It! Avg: 5.0 (3 ratings)
  • Years Active: 2000s


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

No wave-inspired noise-rock duo Talk Normal consists of drummer/vocalist Andrya Ambro and guitarist/vocalist Sarah Register. The pair joined forces in 2007 and began issuing CD-Rs of music that carried on the tradition of angular, cerebrally noisy acts ranging from Ut, DNA, Sonic Youth, and Teenage Jesus & the Jerks to Magik Markers and Sightings. Sightings' bassist Richard Hoffman appeared on Talk Normal's first official release, the 2008 EP Secret Cog. The following year, they embarked on tours with like-minded acts such as Tall Firs, US Girls, and AIDS Wolf; that fall, their full-length debut, Sugarland, arrived. After releasing a single and a split EP with Thurston Moore in 2011, Talk Normal's more melodic but still challenging second album Sunshine arrived.

eMusic Features


Label Profile: M’Lady’s Records

By Lindsay Zoladz, Contributor

File under: Spirited, scrappy back-to-basics punk and indie rock Flagship acts: Coasting, The Golden Awesome, Talk Normal, Tyvek, Hysterics Based in: Portland, Oregon In a moment when the word "indie" is little more than a glorified marketing term, a conversation with M'Lady's Records founder Brett Lyman returns to the phrase a welcome subversive spirit. Inspired equally by the '80s underground, the riot grrrl movement and anarchic post-punk impresario Tony Wilson ("We basically function like an impoverished version of… more »