Click here to expand and collapse the player

The Babys

Rate It! Avg: 3.5 (19 ratings)


Biography All Music Guide

Group Members: John Waite, Jonathan Cain, Jonathan Cain Band

All Music Guide:

The Babys generated extensive hype upon formation in 1976 as one of mainstream pop/rock's brightest hopes for the future. While competent, their music never broke away from its Raspberries-meets-AOR style and developed its own distinctive sound. The group consisted of vocalist/bassist John Waite, guitarist Wally Stocker, former Spontaneous Combustion and Strider drummer Tony Brock, and keyboardist/guitarist Mike Corby, who was replaced by Jonathan Cain in 1978; bassist Ricky Phillips also joined later on. Overshadowed by the punk and new wave movement in their native U.K., the band concentrated on the American market and did score two Top 20 singles with "Isn't It Time" and "Every Time I Think of You." By 1981, the Babys' future didn't look so bright anymore and the group disbanded, with Stocker joining Air Supply's road band. Waite went solo and finally broke through on the charts in 1984 with the number one smash "Missing You," while Cain joined Journey; the two later reunited in the AOR supergroup Bad English.

Tour Dates All Dates Dates In My Area

Date Venue Location Tickets
02.11.17 Saint Rocke Hermosa Beach, CA US