Click here to expand and collapse the player

The Cave Singers

Rate It! Avg: 4.5 (68 ratings)
  • Formed: Seattle, WA
  • Years Active: 2000s
  • Website: http://thecavesingers.com
  • Recent Activity: 07.24.16 We're at the @CHBlockParty tonight 9pm!
  • The Cave Singers

  • The Cave Singers


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Given the rising popularity of meditative, folky indie acts in the early 2000s, forming a twangy, rootsy folk trio was probably the least surprising move Derek Fudesco could have made. The former bassist and founding member of the successful indie rock group Pretty Girls Make Graves picked up an acoustic guitar and formed the Cave Singers following PGMG's demise in January 2007, teaming up with vocalist Pete Quirk (formerly of Hint Hint) and drummer Marty Lund (formerly of Cobra High). Though not an "official" member, ex-PGMGer Andrea Zollo made an appearance on the group's first album as a vocalist and washboard player. Drawing from canonical folkies like Bob Dylan and Woody Guthrie, and sounding more than a little like other early-2000s acts like Lightning Dust, the Snake the Cross the Crown, and Samamidon, the group had its first album, Invitation Songs, recorded and ready to go (thanks in large part to Black Mountain producer Colin Stewart) within months of PGMG's breakup. Matador picked up the trio soon after, and following a few delays Invitation Songs was slated for release in late September. The band continued on a similar path for 2008's Welcome Joy, but worked with producer Randall Dunn -- who also made albums with Sunn 0))) and Boris -- on 2011's eclectic No Witch. Following that record the band was joined by former Blood Brothers bassist Morgan Henderson, who was also doing time as bassist in Fleet Foxes. The expanded group spent 2012 working on their summery fourth album Naomi, which was released on Jagjaguar in early 2013.

Tour Dates All Dates Dates In My Area

Date Venue Location Tickets
07.24.16 Prince's Island Park Calgary, AB Canada


  • 07.24.16 We're at the @CHBlockParty tonight 9pm!
  • 07.20.16 RT @ArtsStation: Tonight's the night everyone has been talking about! The Cave Singers play the Wednesday Night Social! See y'all... https:…
  • 07.17.16 Hey Spokane, early bird tonight! @draemhouse on at 8:30, Cavebros on at 9:30
  • 07.16.16 RT @jacobGreif: Freshly printed posters for the @cavesingers show this Saturday at @bartlettspokane. 18x2… https://t.co/JopWWlax2N https:/…
  • 07.15.16 RT @bartlettspokane: This Saturday! @thecavesingers are back! Get your tix https://t.co/Gt1SLirXji
  • 07.12.16 Sept 9 & 10- Butte #supremeclientele https://t.co/XB4pqdwilF
  • 06.24.16 Go see The Lobster!
  • 06.22.16 Tickets on sale now! https://t.co/YOT2xwREEO
  • 06.21.16 RT @RevoltTV: TONIGHT 8pm ET #SoundsByTheSound season finale pays tribute to radio station @kexp! @thecavesingers & @beatconnexion https://…
  • 06.20.16 We just added the last of the Banshee LPs to our bandcamp: https://t.co/iwmMeC00LI
  • 06.15.16 This Saturday! Carson City, Nevada! Freeee https://t.co/nWTKDKPuIg
  • 06.12.16 Sickening news this morning. Our hearts and prayers go out to the victims & their families in Florida.