Click here to expand and collapse the player

The Evens

Rate It! Avg: 4.5 (61 ratings)
  • The Evens

  • The Evens

  • The Evens


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Formed in the autumn of 2001, the Evens -- Ian MacKaye (Minor Threat, Embrace, Fugazi) on baritone guitar and vocals and Amy Farina of the Warmers on drums and vocals -- released their self-titled debut on Dischord in the spring of 2005. With a more laid-back sound than MacKaye's earlier work (outside of some tracks on Fugazi's 1999 Instrument soundtrack) and a somewhat less angular approach than the Warmers, the Evens honed their hard-to-nail-down atmospheric folk-esque sound through extensive touring. In 2004, they contributed a song ("On the Face of It") to the Protest Records website, and their song "Vowel Movement" was featured on the Washington, D.C. kids show Pancake Mountain. The band spent the better part of 2005 touring the U.S. and returned in 2006 with sophomore release Get Evens. More touring ensued, but by the start of 2008 Farina and MacKaye (also a couple) were expecting their first child. Their daughter was born in May of that year and it would be years before the band regrouped with 2012's follow-up third album, The Odds, released late in the year.