Click here to expand and collapse the player

The Source

Rate It! (0 ratings)


Biography All Music Guide

Group Members: Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten & Håkon Kornstad, Trygve Seim, Andreas Utnem, Trygve Seim & Frode Haltli, Trygve Seim

All Music Guide:

The Source is a loose Norwegian jazz collective formed by saxophonist Trygve Seim, trombonist Øyvind Brække, and drummer Per Oddvar Johansen in 1993. The group's constantly shifting makeup has found them collaborating with performance artists, poets, DJs, classical ensembles, and rock groups, always working under the theoretical banner of collective improvisation. With Ingebrigt Håker Flaten on bass, the group released Olemanns Kornett on Norway Music in 1995, followed by a split album with the Cikada String Quartet called The Source and Different Cikadas on ECM in 2002. A second ECM album, simply entitled The Source, was released in 2006, this time with Mats Eilertsen sitting in on bass.