Click here to expand and collapse the player

The Twilight Sad

Rate It! Avg: 4.5 (138 ratings)
  • The Twilight Sad

  • The Twilight Sad

  • The Twilight Sad

  • The Twilight Sad


Biography All Music Guide

All Music Guide:

Distinguished by James Graham's heavy Scottish accent, an accordion, and oodles of noise, the Twilight Sad rose from Glasgow, Scotland, in late 2003 with the lineup of Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane (guitar, accordion), Craig Orzel (bass), and Mark Devine (drums). After playing a couple of shows in Glasgow that featured extensive pieces of music using an abundance of instruments, they holed up in the studio to write new material. In September 2005, with four new songs in hand, they sent a demo to Fat Cat. The label ended up putting them on the bill of a showcase with the Mutts, Charlottefield, the Rank Deluxe, and Frightened Rabbit. The Twilight Sad's debut EP was issued in the U.S. in November 2006; the full-length Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters arrived the following April. The 2008 EP Here, It Never Snowed. Afterwards It Did featured reworkings of several of the album's songs with simpler, more acoustic arrangements, plus a cover of Daniel Johnston's "Some Things Last a Long Time." Killed My Parents and Hit the Road, which featured more covers, including songs by the Smiths and Joy Division among its previously unreleased tracks, also arrived that year. The Twilight Sad continued to tour as they worked on their second album, playing dates in the U.S. with Mogwai as well as appearing in the U.K. Tracks from the album began appearing online in spring 2009, with "Reflection from the Television" premiering on Pitchfork's website that May; the single "I Became a Prostitute" arrived that August. Forget the Night Ahead, which had a darker, more streamlined approach than the band's earlier work and was co-produced by guitarist McFarlane and the Delgados' Paul Savage, was released in the fall. By February 2012, Twilight Sad strayed from their shoegaze Wall of Sound leanings to offer No One Can Ever Know, which adopted a cold, aggressive, industrial-influenced approach with help from influential British producer Andrew Weatherall (Primal Scream). The band went further in this electronic direction with a remixes collection featuring Com Truise, Liars and Optimo that was released late that year. The band weathered departure of keyboardist Martin Doherty (who left to pursue his other group Chvrches), recording 2014's Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave at Mogwai's Castle of Doom studio. Mixed by Peter Katis -- who also worked on Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters -- the album reflected all of the past and present aspects of the Twilight Sad's sound.

Tour Dates All Dates Dates In My Area

Date Venue Location Tickets
05.26.16 Shoreline Amphitheatre Mountain View, CA US
05.27.16 Gorge Amphitheatre George, WA US
05.29.16 Gorge Amphitheatre George, WA US
05.30.16 Doug Fir Lounge Portland, OR US
05.31.16 Deer Lake Park Burnaby, BC Canada
06.02.16 CenturyLink Arena Boise, ID US
06.03.16 Maverik Center West Valley City, UT US
06.05.16 Fiddler's Green Amphitheatre Englewood, CO US
06.07.16 Xcel Energy Center Saint Paul, MN US
06.08.16 Starlight Theatre Kansas City, MO US

eMusic Features


New This Week: Sharon Van Etten, Twilight Sad & More

By J. Edward Keyes, Editor-in-Chief

OK! Are you guys ready to get bummed out? Because it's the week before Valentine's Day and, man, do we have some sad records for you. I mean, sad even for indie rock, which has sad basically branded into its DNA. So if you're ready to be heartbroken, let's get going. Sharon Van Etten, Tramp: Basically, the only record you need today. A great leap forward from her previous, folky outings, Tramp finds Van Etten falling… more »


  • 05.27.16 Tonight we're with @thecure at the Shoreline Amphitheatre at Mountain View. We're onstage at 7pm https://t.co/jrV3KbfrM2
  • 05.26.16 RT @CraigatCoF: Tonight! @thecure & @thetwilightsad play a sold out @ShorelineAmph in Mountain View, CA. Doors 5:30, The Twilight Sad 7-7:4…
  • 05.26.16 We're playing @Bestival this year! https://t.co/eLUikcVAEY
  • 05.26.16 Cheers to everyone that came to @TeragramLA to see us last night. Great crowd! Photo by @DebiDelGrande https://t.co/FxojHlnLmJ
  • 05.25.16 Los Angeles! We play @teragramla tonight. Onstage at 10pm. Tickets on the door or here https://t.co/4yvju4tfUV https://t.co/aEgQ2U5Ckw
  • 05.25.16 RT @RichrdPat: @EK_Headrick @thetwilightsad I have an extra ticket. My buddy flaked!
  • 05.25.16 RT @SoCalCostello: Hey #LosAngeles, @thetwilightsad is playing tonight!!!
  • 05.25.16 RT @EK_Headrick: Friend couldn't make it up from SD so I've got an extra ticket for tonight's @thetwilightsad show
  • 05.25.16 RT @TeragramLA: @thetwilightsad is playing TONIGHT @ Teragram! Don't miss out!! // Tix --> https://t.co/cG9sfdUzTV https://t.co/JiDiJcOAyM
  • 05.25.16 RT @CraigatCoF: Los Angeles! You loved them opening for The Cure, now go support @thetwilightsad @TeragramLA tonight! Doors at 8. https://t…
  • 05.25.16 RT @PMJawn: thanks to the @HollywoodBowl staff for looking after @thetwilightsad so well the past three nights, unforgettable https://t.co/…
  • 05.25.16 RT @meghan_kearney: Hey Portland! 2 opps to catch @thetwilightsad this week w/ The Cure & @DougFirLounge. My @oregonmusicnews preview: http…